Dr. A. Vibert Douglas Fellowship

The $8,000 CAD Dr. A. Vibert Douglas Fellowship is presented and funded by the CFUW to commemorate the organization’s 100th anniversary in 2019.

Winner for the Academic Year 2019-2020: ASHLI AKINS

Ashli uses an interdisciplinary systems lens to explore themes of community resilience, cultural revitalization, and women’s empowerment. Ashli’s doctoral research explores the shifting value of women’s intangible cultural heritage in an era of rapid economic change. It critically explores how to safeguard cultural heritage in a way that includes community voice and considers change – in other words, that does not “museumify” tradition, women, or culture, putting them in a box in the past. This research works in collaboration with Quechua communities of the Peruvian Andes, examining its textile tradition as a case study.

Dr. A. Vibert Douglas Fellowship
Value: $8,000 

Dr. Allie Vibert Douglas was an internationally known astrophysicist. In 1947 she became the first female president of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada. Douglas was also President of the International Federation of University Women (now known as Graduate Women International) from 1947-1950.

She is a source of inspiration for all women striving for academic excellence. The Dr. A. Vibert Douglas Fellowship was established in 1947 in her honour.

The Fellowship is for a PhD thesis/project which focuses on advancing gender equality. The project must be led by women. The Fellowship is to be used in any country other than the one in which the applicant was educated and other than the one in which the applicant habitually resides.